Christmas in Singapore

I’m not actually spending my Christmas in Singapore having flown south of the equator to Adelaide to spend time with some friends (posts and pictures coming up!) but I wanted to share some of my pictures of the preparations for Christmas festivities in Singapore itself.

I arrived at the beginning of November and it seemed to me that as soon as the Diwali decorations were taken down the Christmas ones went up. The main celebration of the year for most people in Singapore is Chinese New Year so although everywhere is very well decorated for Christmas it feels largely superficial.

Orchard Road is the biggest shopping street and this really goes to town on the decorations. During December there was a pedestrian night where a section of the road was closed to traffic and bands and films were playing in the street. I tried a few long exposure shots so I apologise for the arty stuf but this is a selection of my pictures of Orchard Road.

IMG_1724 IMG_1719 IMG_1716 IMG_1729 IMG_1701 IMG_1704 IMG_1702 IMG_1705Another area which seems to take Christmas serious is Gardens by the Bay where I found a German style Christmas market. It was similar to the ones we get in Europe only they were selling ice cream and not mulled wine!

IMG_1809 IMG_1811 IMG_1816I don’t think there’s much more to say/see other than that it’s very difficult to feel festive when it’s 30 degrees plus!

Leave a comment